NAFP/F Scholarships

The application period for the NAFP Foundation Scholarships is currently closed. Applications for 2019 scholarships will go live in December of 2018. Thank you for your interest in NAFP/F Scholarships!

  • Rural Summer Externship for Medical Students

    The purpose of this six week Externship is to introduce medical students to the Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) and the Accountable Care Organization (ACO) model of care. The student will work in multiple locations over a six-to-eight week period and will receive a $2500 stipend.

  • DeRoin Memorial Scholarship for Medical Students

    William A. DeRoin, MD, and his son Dennis DeRoin, MD, were well-respected leaders within the field of family medicine and very active in the Nebraska Academy of Family Physicians. Two (2) $1,000 DeRoin Scholarships have been created in their memory. These awards are presented annually to two Nebraska natives attending either Creighton University Medical School or The University of Nebraska Medical School. These two students should demonstrate financial need and have a strong interest in family medicine.

  • Medical Mission Trip Scholarship for Medical Students

    This $500 education grant has been instituted to defray expenses of medical students interested in family medicine who are participating in medical mission trips as a part of their medical educational experience.

  • Haiti Mission Trip Scholarship for Medical Students and Residents

    This $1,000 scholarship is made possible by donations from the Nebraska Academy of Family Physicians membership for residents or students with a strong interest in family medicine who are interested in participating in a medical mission trip to Haiti.

  • Donald J. Larson, MD Memorial Scholarship for Residents

    Donald J. Larson, MD was a valued member and Past President of the Nebraska Academy of Family Physicians. He was an acclaimed teacher of family medicine graduate education and served as program director of the Lincoln Family Practice Program from 1988 – 1995 (now known as Lincoln Family Medicine Program). This $1,000 scholarship has been created in Dr. Larson’s memory and will be presented annually to a resident who is interested in family medicine in rural practice.

  • Charles F. Ashby, MD Memorial Scholarship for New Family Physicians

    The Charles F. Ashby, MD Scholarship is made possible by a donation from Mrs. Jean Ashby and family. This $3,000 scholarship will be given in his memory to two (2) new NAFP family physicians (out of residency for two or less years) practicing in Nebraska. This scholarship honors Dr. Ashby and his invaluable contributions to family medicine.

Click here to view the 2018 Scholarship Winners!